Christine Messer: Minestrone
18/10/2015
allgemein, suppe, vegetarisch

Christine Messer: Minestrone

Ingredients for 4 persons

• 1 onion
• 1 clove garlic
• 3 carrots
• 5 stalks celery
• 1 small leek
• ¼ cabbage
• 150 g green beans
• 1 beefsteak tomato
• 80 ml olive oil
• 2 litres vegetable or meat broth
• 2-3 potatoes
• 100 g durum wheat semolina pasta (break larger pasta into pieces)
• 1 small tin of borlotti beans (200 g)
• 3 stems each of lovage and flat-leaf parsley
• 2-3 tbsp. Tomami® Tomato
• salt and pepper
• 200 g grated cheese (Parmesan or Emmentaler to taste)

Instructions

Christine Messer is co-editor and layout artist of the book series “The Culinary Chronicle” dealing with global food culture. She lives in Ascona in Switzerland, and, as a nutritionist, she strives to use only high quality ingredients prepared in the best possible manner. Along with salt and pepper, she uses Tomami® as a standard seasoning in her cooking.

Her Tomami® Recipe = Minestrone: Peel and chop the onion and garlic; wash the vegetables, peel if necessary, and chop as required. Fry the onion and garlic in olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. When the onion is translucent, add the vegetables and cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally (the vegetables should not change colour). Pour in the broth and bring to the boil. Peel the potatoes and dice, add to the soup and simmer for about 40 minutes. Meanwhile, cook the pasta al dente and drain in a colander. Also drain the borlotti beans in a colander. Remove the stalks from the herbs and chop coarsely. When the vegetables are cooked, season the soup with Tomami® Tomato, salt and pepper. Add the pasta, borlotti beans and the herbs and simmer for approx. another minute. Sprinkle with grated cheese as desired and serve with crusty, half white bread or baguette.

Tip: Originally minestrone soup was made from leftovers in Italian-speaking regions. In other words any leftover potatoes, rice or pasta can be used, as can other vegetables depending on availabilty and/or personal taste.

Christine Messer: Minestrone
18/10/2015
allgemein, suppe, vegetarisch

Christine Messer: Minestrone

Zutaten für 4 Personen

• 1 Zwiebel
• 1 Knoblauchzehe
• 3 Karotten
• 5 Stangen Staudensellerie
• 1 kleine Lauchstange
• ¼ Wirsing
• 150 g grüne Bohnen
• 1 Fleischtomate
• 80 ml Olivenöl
• 2 Liter Gemüse- oder Fleischbrühe
• 2-3 Kartoffeln
• 100 g Hartweizengriesspasta (grössere Formen in Stücke brechen)
• 1 kleine Dose Borlottibohnen (200 g)
• je 3 Zweige Liebstöckel und glatte Petersilie
• 2-3 EL Tomami Tomate
• Salz, Pfeffer
• 200 g Reibkäse (Parmesan oder Emmentaler, nach Geschmack)

Anleitung

Christine Messer ist Mitherausgeberin und Layouterin der Buchreihe „The Culinary Chronicle“ über globale Esskultur. Sie lebt in Ascona in der Schweiz und widmet sich als Ernährungsberaterin auch privat qualitativ hochwertigen Lebensmitteln und deren Zubereitung. Neben Salz und Pfeffer gehört beim Würzen Tomami zur Grundausstattung ihrer Küche.

Ihr Tomami-Rezept: Zwiebel und Knoblauch schälen und klein schneiden, das Gemüse putzen, wenn nötig schälen und ebenfalls nach Belieben klein schneiden. In einem grossen Topf Zwiebel und Knoblauch im Olivenöl bei mittlerer Hitze anschwitzen. Wenn die Zwiebel glasig ist, das Gemüse beigeben und unter gelegentlichem Rühren 10-15 Minuten dünsten, ohne Farbe nehmen zu lassen. Mit der Brühe aufgiessen und zum Kochen bringen. Kartoffeln schälen und würfeln, zur Suppe geben und das Ganze ca. 40 Minuten köcheln. Inzwischen die Pasta al dente kochen und im Sieb abgiessen. Borlottibohnen ebenfalls im Sieb abtropfen lassen. Die Kräuter entstielen und grob hacken. Wenn das Gemüse gar ist, die Suppe mit Tomami, Salz und Pfeffer abschmecken. Pasta, Borlottibohnen und die Kräuter zugeben, eine weitere Minute köcheln und die Suppe servieren. Den geriebenen Käse separat dazu servieren. Dazu passt knuspriges Halbweissbrot oder Baguette.

Tipp: Die Minestrone war einst im italienischen Sprachgebiet eine eigentliche Restesuppe. So können eventuelle Reste von Kartoffeln, Reis oder Pasta verarbeitet werden, ebenso können weitere Gemüsesorten je nach Angebot und Geschmack verwendet werden.